What are some cool photography tricks

Nestor Toussaint

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello Photographer s

I am new to digital photography and would like to know some cool digital photography tricks that I can use to be better at it.

Hello Photographer s

I am new to digital photography and would like to know some cool digital photography tricks that I can use to be better at it.

Remove any "protective" filters ad throw them away...

Study your failed pics for guidelines on what NOT to do...do not just jettison the failed digital images.

Remove the lens cap at the start of a shooting session...be ready at all times....have the right exposure pre-set, the lens cap off, and expecting a shot at any second.

LOOK at what the camera is showing. Move the camera position, actively searching for the best shooting position.

Like the cereal catchphrase, "Tricks are for kids!" Photography is easy these days, and there are MANY good photo books out there that show step-by-step tips for getting better at the many types of picture-taking.

Last edited:
As @Derrel said.
Go to the book store and browse and buy a book or two.
Or go to the library and check out a book at a time.
And READ them.
Then practice what you read, so that you understand it.

Last edited:
The only "trick" that I can think is most useful at this time is to learn to use a tripod. its more than simply attaching a camera and opening it up.

I will let the others give the practical answers and show you some things I have done...

photostudio_1548176885400.jpg

20626942_10211642722076140_6473018803533507711_o.jpg

50781447_10215521075152543_6981813894809387008_o.jpg

12186640_10206363745385022_189949433214009853_o.jpg

15590930_10209513423805014_4339836857629958033_o (1).jpg

19400612_10211201445644505_2558437428005208462_o (1).jpg

BASICS
Tricks are of little value if you don't have the basics down.