What Can Photoshop Do that the Others Can't?

RegRoy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm an amateur photographer and I'm learning more and more about making my images look good. I do not want to waste people's time with an another battle royal about Aperture, Lightroom, Elements, Picasa, iPhoto, Photoshop and everything in between.

I've read posts about what the above software CAN do, but not about what these products CAN'T do that photshop can. I ask because as a Web Developer, I own a copy of Photoshop CS3 extended (it came wth CS3 web) and I hardly use it.

So to move to the next level (from the basic Picasa/iPhoto), am I wasting my time trying to learn CS3 for image editing? or is using CS3 overkill for basic to advanced amateur work (I say advanced amateur because I'm really trying to learn more and add to my skill set)? Would I just be better off with Aperture or Lightroom (in terms of the editing ability only -- I will read about the differences in other places so this doesn't turn into a LR/A3 thread). I just don't see a need to drop another $200-300 if PS3 is a workable option.

Thank you.

All versions of PS are worth a little learning time as the program is amazing, however, the constant upgrade brigade leaves me yawning, I find most togs don't know the program well enough to utilize its full potential and upgrading for the latest gimmick/tool/etc is a complete waste of money. I sell PS'ed images and have not noticed a lack of sales due to not having the latest version of whichever program I use, I therefore left the upgrade path at CS1 and to date I'm somewhere in the region of £400 better off. If it's not required use the one you have, as a WD all versions can resize for web. H

It's like the differences between a vector graphics application and a raster graphics application.