What did you learn today?

UncleRico

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I’ve been lurking around the forums for a couple of weeks now and have already learned a lot from everyone. In fact, it seems like I am learning something new every day. To help me grow in my photographic endeavors, I thought it would be helpful to document some of my learning’s. In the process, I thought other beginners might benefit from a thread dedicated to learning.

Disclaimer: As a beginner, I don’t feel qualified to make concrete statements, so please use the tips as a jumping point to draw your own conclusions.

Here is a quick summary of some of the things I learned today:

1) When shooting with vibration reduction (VR) capable lenses, you should turn of the VR when shooting on a tripod. This is because the VR can anticipate movement that does not exist.
a. Sources:
i. Previous posts on TPF.
ii. Personal experience. Several moon shots came out slightly blurred, even though I used a tripod with the self timer.
2) In most cases, it is advised that you shoot with your lens hood. This is because it reduces the amount of side light during an exposure. This will enhance the colors and saturation within your photos. It also provides an additional layer of protection to your lens.
a. Sources:
i. http://www.the-digital-picture.com/canon-lenses/lens-hoods.aspx
ii. http://photography-on-the.net/forum/archive/index.php/t-29529.html
iii. http://www.betterphoto.com/forms/QnAdetail.asp?threadID=9887