What do photographers do during winter??

xokm811xo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I wasn't sure where to post this, but I need some help. This is my first year in 'business'. And I've never gone through the winter months before and become familiar with the ups and downs of wedding seasons and slow seasons. I've realized, that we are currently in a slow season. I do a little bit of portraits as well as weddings, however ever since December, I haven't had any work what so ever. I'm going crazy. I have inquiries and people interested in setting something up with me, but as soon as we get talking, they always finalize our conversation with, 'Great! Let's set it up in spring, its too cold out right now.' I don't want the weather to stop me every year. Every session I've ever done, whether it be engagements or portraits or what have you, are always outside. I don't have a studio, and I'm not exactly a pro and indoor lighting, so my safe bet is always outdoors. Well I can't do that anymore because I can't just not shoot any jobs from December-March. I know other photographers do it!
I just invested a reflector and a soft box and am interested in getting started learning indoor portraits. I have a couple models that have already expressed interest in letting me practice on them. But the problem is.. where?? My house is not ideal. And I don't feel right intruding asking them if I can come to their house - especially when I don't know their set up. The only place I can think of is some kind of garden with greenhouses and doing it in there. I'm trying to think of a big well lit building (if there is such a thing) that I can use or something along those lines. But I'm at a loss. What do other people do without studios?? Help! :(