What do you suggest my first lens be?

Valeen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi! Im a newbie around here, I would appreciate some suggestions on a lens.
I just bought a Canon G9, Im looking for a zoom lens, something good but Im by no means a pro, so Im not looking to spend an arm and a leg on one!
Think I could get anything good for around $75.00(Maybe on Ebay)??

Im pretty clueless(its not that obvious, it is?:blushing:) about lenses.

Thanks in advance!

The G9 is a point and shoot (P&S) camera, also called a compact digital camera and not a single reflex camera (SLR). You cannot change the lens on it. The G9 already comes with a zoom lens: 7.4-44.4 mm (35mm equivalent: 35-210mm). What are you trying to achieve that you cannot do with your G9 at the moment?

Ok, I dont know crap about cameras, Im the first to admit that!
The associate at the store I bought the camera from said I could buy different lenses for the camera, a zoom lens is what I'm looking for.

I knew it was a P&S when I bought it, Im not trying to achieve professional photos, but I was trying to purchase a camera that I could attach a zoom lens to.
I feel pretty damn dumb now that I bought the camera.

If I cant attach a lens, then I am seriously thinking about returning the camera and taking my business elsewhere. Even though I like the results I get from the camera as it is, I would like to be able to zoom further than what it does now. I dont know all the technical terms(sorry, I said I was a newbie!), all I know is I want to get closer lol.

Since now I know I cannot attach a lens, can you suggest a cheaper(around$ 5-600.00 SLR)? Am I asking for too much? Probably!

Ok...I found an Ebay auction
http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-PowerShot...yZ146254QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
I hope I can post links here.
Anyway, what are the lenses that come with the camera? Are they just pointless junk that you cant attach to the camera?

I sound so stupid and clueless.