What gear to get for a new DSLR owner?

Unsung

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to DSLR photography with the arrival of my Nikon D3100 today. I'm already set on the lenses I plan to purchase later on (which is why I spent not as much on the body). However, I'm not certain of what accessories would be good investments. I'd like to spend not too much on accessories. I have these possibilities down so far:
Filters (Would a UV filter be useful to protect my lens at all times? Of course, I'm not using film and the UV filter can degrade image quality slightly. I could use a lens hood. I am planning on polarizer(s) and ND filter(s).)
Camera bag (I do not plan to move my equipment often, but is one worth having? What would be a good method to carry around a second lens while outside?)
Carbon fiber tripod (Around ~$70. Since a DSLR is considerably more massive than a point-and-shoot, I'm not sure if this will keep the camera considerably safer than my cheapo tripod.)
JOBY Gorillapod (Is one worth it for a DSLR? It's definitely highly portable and relatively inexpensive.)
Monopod (What kind of events that don't allow tripods and extra uses that would make this worth it?)
Camera flash (I'm leaning towards not; I don't think the D3100 supports wireless flashes built-in anyways. These can get more expensive than the lenses I plan to get and my light bulbs are enough for still life.)
Spare battery (I don't spend much time away from a charger, but is it good to have as a backup?)
And any other useful equipment.

Good luck finding a decent Carbon Fiber tripod for $70.

I have a used aluminum tripod http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/...tos-professional-aluminum-mt-9360-tripod.html and a tripod head http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/...04rc2-tripod-head-w-quick-release-plates.html for sale.