What lens

mrsdthompson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
What lens would work good for groups of people? I have a Nikon D90

Although I am not experienced with taking shots like that, however, giving us a little more details should help us understand what you try to accomplish.

5 groups of 2 people certainly is different with 1 group of 200 people.
Taking the shots in football stadium (which may have a lot of room) maybe different from indoor.

Last edited:
That would depend on the size of the group, how they are arranged/posed, and how far from the group you want to be.

Depth-of-field is controlled by 4 factors:
  1. focal point to camera distance
  2. lens focal length
  3. lens aperture
  4. focal point to background distance.
I sometimes shoot soccer teams with a 24 mm lens because of the venue, and sometimes I shoot soccer teams with a 300 mm lens at another venue. And I use focal lengths in between those 2 extremes as the situation varies.

With the 23 mm lens I am wihin 10 feet of the group and the background is also close behind the group. With the 300 mm lens I'm 50 feet from the group and the background is 200 feet behind the group.

Doing people shots requires a selection of lenses, both zoom lenses and prime lenses.

to add what Keith says.. it will also be determined on the flash too if you are using one. Shooting with 200mm with flash mounted on your camera will barely do anything :).

What lens do you have?

It'll be about 7 people. Thanks guys for your help!

What's your budget? Do you want to get full bodies in? Where are you shooting them - outside, in a house, studio, garage, under water, the moon?

Be careful with really wide lenses as they will distort and could make the group seem a bit weird, specially those on the edges. Might work for ya, depending on what you are aiming to do.
I like somewhere between 24mm and 35mm for groups.

My budget isn't much. I will be shooting full bodies outdoors.