racefan24

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.bemphotography.eventpicttures.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys,
I am starting to get photography job offers, but I don't have any rates. Here is a little bit of background information so maybe you can help me figure out how much my rates should be.

I have been studying photography for 4 years, finishing up my Junior Year as a photography major at Columbia College Chicago. I have taken about 16 classes on photography which includes Film, Digital, and Studio classes. Also, I am starting my 3rd season as a freelance Auto racing photographer. I have shot many events for series that include NASCAR, NHRA, Monster Jam, and the World Of Outlaws.

As for equipment, I use a canon Rebel XTI with just the kit lenses and a 50-250mm telephoto lens, all only f4 (I know I need better equipment).

With that bit of information, how much should I charge???

I wouldn't charge anything if you haven't had experience with portraiture. You should focus on building a portfolio first.

It depends on what you are shooting, whether you are responsible for printing, etc.

Your going to want a bigger portfolio than that, unless your clients will be Monster Truck promoters only. With that said, what kind of jobs are you being offered? If this is something you want to do professionally, when do you plan on upgrading to pro gear?

In 4 years of study I would have hoped that the business of photography would have been covered.

There are different pricing models for photography:
  • Commercial
  • Retail
  • Editorial
Commercial and Editorial photography involve use licensing for various specific uses (advertising (print, TV), annual reports, web usage, etc), sizes, number of publications printed, geographical areas, time frame of the use license, etc.