What temps can damage my camera

2jPhoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Brand New to photography. I just got a Canon M50 and I've been practicing. I have literally only taking my first couple hundred pictures many of which are duplicates. I was trying to get pictures of the stars while I waited for the sunrise over the mountain so I can get pictures of that too. It was 32 degrees and colder the whole time and I was taking long exposure shots my camera was outside for about an hour. it didn't really occur to me that exposing the camera to these temperatures can be bad. I guess my question is at what point should I warm it back up? I'm a huge noob go easy on me. I've never owned a camera that wasn't part of my phone. Also, bonus question! I did back to back long exposure shots where my shutter was open for like 2 or 3 minutes and I took maybe a dozen shots like that. It was between 30 and 33 degrees outside, no wind

I really don't think that you need to be concerned, the electronics in the camera are typically rated for far greater temperature extremes. The one issue that you may have with cold is reduced battery life but I think it would have to be colder for that to be a real problem.

What you should keep in mind is condensation when bringing you cool camera into a warm environment.

After spending all night in my air-conditioned room, my camera fogged up as soon as I went outside on my first day in Cambodia. It happened one other time when I went to a indoor butterfly conservatory, too.

Plenty of Silca gel and let the camera warm up slowly. When shooting in the cold put extra batts in an inside pocket to keep warm. You will get longer life out of batts if kept warm and swap them over when it starts to drop in power.