What to buy (Complete Beginner)

JELIFISH19

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've always had an interest in photography so I decided to take a photography class at school. I need a camera for it. The professor recommended a Canon G-10 or a G-11. Originally, I wanted a DSLR and he recommended that if I could afford it. I can afford an entry-level one like a Canon Rebel but I think it might be smarter to go a different route because DSLRs with lenses can get expensive. If I get something close to a DSLR, it can give me a feel for it to see if I want to pursue it further. Is that a smart decision?

I was looking at the Fujifilm Finepix S200EXR. It seems like it's what I'm looking for. Is there anything else I should look at? I'm looking to spend around $600.

Thanx

Nikon D60 with 18-55 VR lens is only $549 at Best Buy, D40 with 18-55 lens is only $449 at the same place.

The new Nikon D3000 (in 'taking orders' status last time I checked) is at $599 with 18-55 VR lens.

I'm sure there are Canons and others that would fit your budget as well but I only know the Nikon lineup.

If you are looking at advanced P&S, there is the Canon SX10 IS that is pretty nice, and the G10 is a great camera, will manual controls that will let you learn about photography.

I would probably go with the G10, as when you get a DSLR - if you stick with this, you will get one - then its a great camera to keep in your backpack or pocket when you dont want to drag your full kit with you.

Or maybe look at a G9 or an older model if you want to save some coin

I'm definitely looking for an advanced P&S right now. I was mainly considering Canons since that's what my professor uses so he can give me advice. I also have owned a couple of their Powershots. I was considering the G11 and the SX1IS. I was leaning more towards the SX1IS though. That's in the top 2 along with the S200EXR. But the S200EXR seems like it has more control. They're also the same price. Which one would be the better buy?