Photos OK to edit
beginner here looking to get into this.
$1000 budget.

requirements to be met in the budget:
Camera body and lens, obviously.
Tripod

Extra (would be nice...):
Flash unit.

Is a flash unit a requirement when starting out? I know im going to need one at some point in time...

The two ideas i have in mind right now are:
1) http://www.amazon.com/Pentax-Digital-Reduction-18-55mm-3-5-5-6/dp/B0012Q72IY
With a tripod. (flash would be bought later.)

2)
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/438940-REG/Sony_DSLRA100K_Alpha_DSLR_A100_Digital_Camera.html
With tripod and flash.

thoughts?

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
With this $1000 budget be it?
Will you want to buy any lens in the future?

I did not ask myself this when I was looking. I got lucky and got Canon - will make same decision today, but for different reasons.

If you plan on doing something specific in future (birds/animals, insects, portraits, etc ...), you may also want to look at pricing/availibility of lens for those purpose.

I would recommend Canon because I have one :)
But you can't go wrong with Nikon either - they must have more attractive advertising because allof my friends have Nikons.

I was using a cheap Walmart tripod with my 30D and kit 28-135. No problems at all. Upgraded to something ~$300 when I started using a much heavier lens. If you are planning on staying with kit lens, a cheap tripod will do the trick - I'm assuming you do not want to spend $200-$300 on a tripod.

Canon Film cameras. with the current dSLR market you will have difficulty affording both a body and a lens let alone a triopd. A new film camera runs a couple hundred dollars cheaper than a refurbished digital. Most of the last generation SLR bodies use the same lens mount as the current dSLRs of the respective make. You could take that road and still be able to afford and use lenses that should in most cases be usable when upgraded to a digital body.