what would you do

pbisfun

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am just starting out I have a 50D 55-250mm lens two cheep moon lights with model lamp with soft box (light is either full or half) I have been working with the camera and reading lots of books for over a year I am getting some good portrait shots but could use help with the lighting. I have 1200 dollars to spend and I would like to try and start making a little money on the side. I know I could use a better lens but I all so need other stuff. I would all so like to try my hand at local sporting events.
group 1
Photo editing software (adobe Photoshop $100.00)
Light Meter (Sekonic L-358 $259.00)
On camera flash (Metz mecablitz 58AF $399.95)
Web sight and template (&100.00)
Collapsible back drop for travel (8X16 129.95)

Or
group 2
Used Canon 70-200mm f/2.8 none IS lens 900.00

Do I buy group 1 and try and start making some cash on the side or do I buy the lens and wait a year until I can buy the rest of the stuff. im leaning towards group 1

Don't buy cheap. Cheap looks, frankly, cheap.
Save up and by the good stuff. Just my 2 pennies

Photo editing software (adobe Photoshop $100.00)
Unless you qualify for a student discount etc. Photoshop is more like $800. Photoshop Elements is about $100 though.

It sounds like your lights are pretty cheap, do you want to upgrade them? Do you need to upgrade them?

Light Meter (Sekonic L-358 $259.00)
Always a good idea to have a flash meter when using flash/strobes in a studio environment. This is a good one.
Not an absolute necessity though.

On camera flash (Metz mecablitz 58AF $399.95)
If you want to shoot studio type portraits, then why get an on-camera flash?
If you do want an on-camera flash, I'd recommend the Canon 430EX or the 580EX.

thanks for the comments