Where to focus?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Fotis7, Feb 24, 2020.

1. Fotis7

Fotis7 TPF Noob!

Hello everyone! I am new in photography! I want to ask you about focusing with a specific example. In the photo below in Prague! You are in the top of the old bridge tower and you want to shoot this photo with the castle and the charles bridge! Where i have to focus? Handheld with AF-S! Exactly in the castle for example? I will have also the rest in focus? Thanks in advance! ;)

Attached Files:

Last edited: Feb 24, 2020
  2. Braineack

Braineack Been spending a lot of time on here!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I would be comfortable shooting this wide open, ~f/2.8, and just focus somewhere on the other side of the body of water, and expect everything to be in focus.

Your DOF would still be something like ~150ft to infinity, shooting around 50mm focal length.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Fotis7

Fotis7 TPF Noob!

Thanks for your answer but because i am really new in this! You suggest "focus and recompose technique"? My questions are always for handheld! Thanks!

4. Derrel

Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

Photos OK to edit
    Depth of field calculator, aperture, focal length. The old basic is to focus one third of the way into the scene. In most cases people used to consider that depth of field extends one third of the way in front of the point of focus and 2/3 of the way behind the point of exact Focus.

• Like Like x 2
  5. adamhiram

adamhiram No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit