Which camera to save for?

iOwen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey I am a armature photographer with a 5100 looking to save for a semi pro camera. Which body should I choose?

To be honest, Nikon's line up of cameras is a confusing mess right now. The most professional feature set in a DX body has a 4 year old 12 mp sensor. The entry level offering has a 24mp sensor. The D300s should be replaced, but when the replacement is announced, it will be months to before anyone can get one. No one knows for sure if it will be DX or FX ...

If you have $3000, get the D800 - you'll be waiting a while and you'll need another couple thousand for lenses..
If you have $1200, get the D7000 - but that has the same sensor as the D5100. If the D7100 is announced next, then you kind of wasted some cash.
If your have/want to spend $1800-$2000, there is no really good upgrade that won't have you either wasting money or compromising.
The D700 is $2199 but is impossible to find. A great camera, but you'll need new glass which has you spending $3000 on a 4 year old camera - may as well get the D800 at that point.

You could buy used, but even the D300s used is still too pricey. There's nothing to replace it with yet if you own one (or you're on the D800 wait list).

As a D90 owner looking to upgrade, I'm standing pat until I see what shakes out over the summer. Hopefully it won't die or get stolen.
If I had a D5100 right now, I would enjoy it and wait.

My 2 cents.

I agree with you, Nikon is all over the place at this time. I will keep what I have for now, it works for me. I would just sit tight and see what happens later>

Last edited:
sleist said: