Which camera??

Chumpy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi
I'm a newbie to photography. I've had a couple of SLR format cameras, but never seemed to get the best out of them, and never used them off the AUTO mode...

I'm looking to get another SLR / SLR Format camera.

I don't want to spend a fortune, but want something that I can get good images from, which is good value for money, and which I can use to teach myself some of the basics of photography out of AUTO mode!!

I've seen the Fuji Finepix S9500, and the Samsung Pro 815. Both seem good to me, and are probably the kind of things I'm considering buying. However, I don't know which is best, or if there are any others I should be considering.....

Can anyone point me in the right direction with regards to which cameras I should be considering, who has the best deals etc..

Thanks in advance...

Neither of the cameras you've listed there are SLR cameras. They are ZLR or pro-sumer cameras which have a fixed lens. Although this is a generalisation, it is often fairly tricky to use these types of cameras in manual modes - they're really designed for keen amateurs to use in program mode. For a slightly larger cost, you can get an entry-level DSLR, like the Nikon D50 or the Canon 350D with a kit lens. These cameras have advantages - they're designed to be used in manual modes, have bigger sensors, have a wide range of accessories and lenses and also have a better resale value.

Have a look at the offerings from Nikon and Canon and think about what you want to achieve.

Rob

By your possible choice selection, I assume you are leaning towards digital. Like many here will tell you, "go to a camera store and pick them one that feels best in your hand". That is all fine and good, however, I have found that most retailers have a very limited selection to sample and they can all order what you want; which defeats the purpose.
A few questions for you then:
1 Is it digital you want or film?