Which laptop to buy for editing photos and video...?

JMcDonald

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys! I am new to Photography and Video. I recently got into Aerial Imagery, but plan to also incorporate ground work as well.

With that being said, I have narrowed down my choices on computers to either the 2016 MacBook Pro 2.6Ghz, 512GB, Radeon Pro 460 GPU and would be running Final Cut Pro X and Photoshop, Lightroom, and possibly After Effects.

My other option would be the new Dell XPS 15/9560, 1TB, 4k Touch screen, NVIDIA 1050 GPU and would run Adobe Premiere.

Let me know your guys thoughts!!! Ultimately I want something that's going to edit 4k video and give me the speed I need when editing photos and such. Thanks!

When I´m on tour I use a late 2013 Macbook Pro 2,6 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 Processor | 16 GB | 512 GB
Renders 4k pretty well. I use After Effects and Adobe Premiere both CS6
Don´t know about windows machines, but I can only recommend the Macook Pro.

I hate Apple so can't comment on the Mac but the XPS 15 is a stunner and will have all the power you need. And upgradeable.

If you want speed you would be better to look at either an iMac and max the processor and ram or even a Mac Pro.

My other half has a Mac pro. It's an older model (the silver desk-side cabinet -- not the new round black cylinder shaped machine) but it does have dual Intel Xeon hexacore processors - for a total of 12 CPUs and each CPU is dual-thread. Since a lot of the rendering software is designed to take advantage of multi-threaded (and they do a pretty good job of it) it definitely smokes all of our other computers w.r.t. how long it takes to complete a rendering job. The laptop that I bought "at the time" would give me time estimates of ... 40 hours to complete a render job. That machine would finish the job in just a few hours.