Which lens? D40.

ponyboy4130

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I want to try a new lens, im a beginner, but what to see the difference with a new lens on my camera. Im going to be going to an indoor party, and want to get some candid shots of people. What do you recomend i get to try out? (im going to rent one online) I wanted to try a fixed lens like the nikon 1.4 or 1.4 but dont want to use manual focus, so maybe the sigma version, 1.4 i think? what MM? or what lens do you think would be my next lens, but good for an indoor people party?

I want to try a new lens, im a beginner, but what to see the difference with a new lens on my camera. Im going to be going to an indoor party, and want to get some candid shots of people. What do you recomend i get to try out? (im going to rent one online) I wanted to try a fixed lens like the nikon 1.4 or 1.4 but dont want to use manual focus, so maybe the sigma version, 1.4 i think? what MM? or what lens do you think would be my next lens, but good for an indoor people party?

i nice and cheap lens that good for situations like that is the Nikkor 50mm 1.8. its a pretty good and fast lens, and its cheap. i have one, dont use it as much as i used to but it doesnt fit my need for the type of photography im interested. i do love that lens though, and so do most people that own it.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/247091-USA/Nikon_2137_Normal_AF_Nikkor_50mm.html

it can be found cheaper though.. good luck!

At an indoor party taking candid shots of people, even an f/1.8 lens is probably going to be on the slow side. You could use the Sigma 30mm f/1.4 HSM, but that's on the wide side. An 18-135 plus a flash would work pretty well though. Wide enough for group shots, and 105-135mm works perfectly for tight head shots.