Wide-Angle?

AutumnMoon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have some questions about the use of a wide-angle lens. I am not new to photography, I know the basics but I haven't experimented with anything other than a basic lens. I have read a bit about wide-angle lenses and it seems that they are suggested for use in portraits. I have always used my regular lens for portraits but I find I have a very small space to work with so I can't get as much of my subject in the picture as I would like. Is a wide-angle lens a good solution to my problem? Will it distort the image? If it does, is there a way around this? I appreciate any help and I apologize in advance if I've placed this question in the wrong spot.

Actually, if I'm not mistaken, most people would use a telephoto for portraits. But if you are in need of more space, a normal lens (50mm) would probably be best. Wide-angle lenses give a larger sense of depth to the image. I'm no expert in portraiture, however, so take this advice as such.

Wide angle lenses can be used to achieve certain effects when in portraits. As standard lenses for portraits, they are not. First, because of precisely those effects (which can be as far as deforming the natural shape of a face, and not necessarily you need to go to a fish-eye for that). Second, because you will have to get so close to the people that they will probably be really uncomfortable.
As suggested, short teles (around 70-100mm, I would say) are the usual lenses for portraits. The also suggested 50mm can be nice, as well. But if you can't managed with that, I would suggest trying other locations for shooting portraits, other than wide lenses. Somewhere when you can get a little further away

For an example of what a wide angle lens does in portraiture, there's a great picture in the "Portrait and Wedding Photography" forum, the thread is called Style and Money if I am not mistaken.