Will 50mm lens AUTOFocus on my Canon 60D? Please Help.

stephaniemong

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi there, I need some help. I'm looking to buy a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 lens for my Canon EOS 60D but I'm concerned about it not being able to auto focus. Will it?
I want to make sure it will auto focus because I had a 50mm lens for my Nikon (D5000) I always had to shoot with a manual focus because the camera itself did not have a interal auto focus motor or something. I learned my lesson there but I don't want to make the same mistake. I'm new to Canon cameras and would enjoy any input. ;) Thanks!
~Stephanie

Yup. No problem. I've used that lens on a 30D, 40D and 7D. Canons don't have the same issue you saw with the Nikon -- all Canon EF and EF-S lenses have their own focus motors, though they vary in speed & quality. There are some third-party lenses, I believe, that won't auto-focus at all on Canon bodies, but this is a quality of the lens -- not the body.

Your Canon 60D doesn't have an auto focus motor either, but no Canon camera has since 1987.

Nikon left the AF motor out of the D40, D40x, D60, D3000, D3100, D3200, D5000, D5100, D5200, and D5300 to make them more compact, so the camera size would appeal more to women.

Note that Canon EF-S lenses cannot be used on Canon EF camera bodies. Your 60D is an EF-S camera body, so you can use both EF-S and EF lenses on your camera.

Just ordered! Thanks so much for your help everyone! It was a little confusing picking lenses for Nikon, too many options for a newbie. I was a Nikon girl but now I believe I'm a Canon girl. ;)

Just to sum up: ALL Canon auto-focusing lenses have their own focusing motor (in the lens.) Canon does not have any camera bodies (and never did) that put the focus motors in the body.