Will I even notice quality differences?

Wildcats160

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been shooting a Nikon D40 since 2006. I have shot intermittently in that time and only became more serious in the last few months. I've noticed that low-light capabilities leave something to be desired and I'm missing in-body auto-focus capabilities as I amass lenses. I'm looking to upgrade to technology at least from this decade. I have been looking at D7000s and they seem lightyears ahead of my old D40. The problem is, I get caught up in the numbers and can't help but think I should keep saving until I can buy either a higher-end DX camera like a D7200, or a lower-end FX camera like a used D700 or D600/610.

I guess my question is this: the D7000 is quite a few steps ahead of the D40. Should I wait and make the bigger jump to a much better camera, or will I be so taken aback by the increased abilities of the D7000 over my camera that I won't even notice what I'm missing in the 7200/600/610?

I like to shoot portraits, wildlife, and landscapes, but I'd like to branch out further in the future. Budget-wise, I'm somewhat limited since we're a single-income family at the moment.

I would look for a used D7100. I think there are some very good prices on that and it has a few updates over the D7000. The D7000 is a good option if you really want to get closer to current camera specs at a really good price.

If you have a number of DX lenses then going to FX would also involve an investment in additional glass and the D700 and D600/610 are generally above the D7100 in price.