Would it be too much if I . . .

Canon Fan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Handed out business cards at our last Lamaze class to all the expecting parents for a free 1 hour photo shoot? All I would ask in return is to be able to use pics in my portfolio (IE model release ect.) In return I would be willing to give at least one framed/matted high res 8x10 of thier choice. There are about 6 other couples so I'm not talking about a whole lot of people here. It just seems a little too over the top to me, but then again I often think I am WAY to quiet and reserved to be in "people" photography to begin with so I could be WAY off on this :oops:

I tend to just let people know that I am a photographer if it comes up and have cards on hand if they ask for one. But, you could ask the instructor or even talk to the maternity staff at the hospital because they give away a lot of things to new parents at the hospital. I don't remember getting anything photography related in my folder, but there were lots of coupons, etc.

I got a Welcome Wagon baby visit (same type of thing Alison was referring to) and part of it was a free shoot and unframed unmatted 5x7 if I can rememver correctly. If you're not comfortable handing them out in person maybe check for something of the like in your area.

As for the Lamaze class I don't personally think it's over the top ... you're just making the offer, what could it hurt?

:D Good luck anyways

Definitely check with the hospital. The hospital where we had Molly has a photographer that is 'exclusive' to them and comes in for each new baby and does a photoshoot. Personally, I thought the guy's work was crap, especially at $80 for a single unframed 5x7, so I wouldn't let him in. :D But if you can get into that kind of gig with a hospital, it's gravy money.

$80 for an unframed 5x7? Ouch, talk about a rip. At least include an 8x10 or two, hehe.