"You are another me."

Reaction score
Website
www.carolinedixey.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
That's how the Mayans would introduce themselves.

I just noticed this thread section yesterday but I didn't really have time to post a hello. I've been a member of this forum since November 2006 I think? But I only just recently started using it regularly.

I would call myself a new professional. My website was just launched in January, but I have been taking photos seriously for about 3 years. My first digital camera was a point and shoot, of course, but after that broke, I decided to get a Canon 350D. In November, I upgraded to a Canon 40D, and I have been quite happy with it, and myself using it.

I graduated high school in 2004, and attended college until April of 2006, when I realized everything that was happening in the world. War, famine, unhappiness, and I saw that most of those negative things were brought on by people like me who take more than they need. I began looking at things differently, and saw that my going to school wasn't helping anyone except for the people receiving my checks. The school I was going to did not allow Photography majors to take a digital class until their Senior year. While I think learning film is important, I also think that it is important to give art students a way to pay for art school. Three years of printing in a darkroom would have killed any money I would have had at the end of school for starting my photography...plus hardly anyone uses film commercially anymore, so not only would it harm the environment, it would be for no reason, because it would all have to be re-learned when the switch to digital is made.

My photography took an unexpected turn. I began going to anti-war protests and photographing them, going to political forums, researching all things political and ethical. I really got into politics.