Zoom Lens Question

droad

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm still a true beginner. I've always assumed that photos taken with the same camera of an object at the same distance with two different lens set for the same focal length would yield a similar sized photo of the object. However in a test today I'm finding that isn't true.

Please ignore my photo quality as I was just trying to test the concept. I used a Nikon D7200 on a tripod. The subject is a box sitting at 55" from the focal plane. I used a Nikon 55-300 DX lens at 300mm and a Tamron 16-300 DX lens at 300mm. As you can see in the resulting photos of the box is very different.

I'm trying to figure out why that is.

Attachments

• Nikon 55-300 - 55 inches.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 182
  • Tamron 16-300 - 55 inches.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 161
As I recall, the CIPA industry standard allows for about a 10 percent variation in lens focal length specification versus actual, measured focal length; I have seen a few test results over the years, including one in which a 300mm lens was actually around a 285mm lens. Also, some lenses suffer from focal breathing, a term for when a lens's focal length changes with focused distance. Focal lengths are measured with the lens focused at Infinity; on many lenses, as the focus is set closer thanh Infinity, the focal length shortens

Hi and welcome to the forum.
This is totally weird. While Derrel is correct (of course he is ;) ). This is just waaaaay more than 15% - more like 100% +. I´ve looked at the exif data because I thought you mixed up something. But true, both are shot at 300mm. So my guess is: either you are trying to make fun out of us and changed the image in Photoshop, keeping the exif data from a totally different shot ;). Or there is something wrong with one of your lenses. I don´t think the camera has digital zoom, does it?

I'd run the same test for both lenses at 55, 100, 150, 200, 250 and 300