Auto Exposure Bracketing/HDR

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by FDSA, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. FDSA

    FDSA TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I've been wanting to try an HDR for a while and was wondering if using the auto bracketing option on my camera would work.

    I would like to retake and fix this picture trying to get the foreground lighter and the sky less blown out. is this a good idea and is it possible to do HDR's with photoshop CS2?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. dEARlEADER

    dEARlEADER TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I don't use CS2 so i'm not sure about it's exposure blending features...

    most people tend to use photomatix for hdr.... download it and check it out....

    bracketing will definatly help your reshoot... and of course... a tripod and the absense of wind......
     
  3. nynfortoo

    nynfortoo TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Using Auto-Bracketing is the best way (someone correct me if I'm wrong) to do HDR; but make sure you use a tripod if you can, else you'll have variance in the bracketed shots. You need them to be as identical as possible.
     
  4. FDSA

    FDSA TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Thanks for the quick replies. i would use a tripod and a timer on the camera to avoid shake, wind is another problem i'll need to deal with. is there a way to do more than three exposures automatically?
     
  5. benp2k6

    benp2k6 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    You will have to refer to your user manual for the answer to that. Mine is only 3

    To get a really good HDR you want the exposure to be very far apart (like -2EV, 0EV, +2EV) and some people go even further than that...

    You can do Merge to HDR in CS2 (File > Automate > Merge to HDR) and if the camera moves the frame a tad, no big deal it can correct it without messing your HDR up.

    **Edit: Another cool feature that many do not know about with AEB, when your camera is set to "M" it adjusts the exposure by shutter speed OR aperture!
     
  6. KhronoS

    KhronoS TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Romania, Galati
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Depends of the camera. Some can make 5 bracketed photos. :)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ae bracketing hdr

,

auto exposure bracketing hdr

,

auto exposure bracketing iphone

,
auto-exposure bracketing iphone
,
exposure bracketing iphone
,
exposure bracketing vs hdr
,
hdr bracketing using exposure
,
how to take bracketed exposures iphone
,

importance of auto exposure bracketing

,
iphone auto exposure bracketing