Buyers remorse

maggie83

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Does anyone else feel a little buyer's remorse after buying a dslr? I have a little point and shoot Canon from 2011 that I love - great images and coloring. But I wanted something better for an upcoming trip, something with more features, but definitely DID NOT want a dslr. Too expensive, too heavy, too bulky. But as it turns out, nicer point and shoots were several hundred dollars more than a basic dslr, so I ended up getting a Nikon 3400 and a 35mm lens. I had always kind of wanted a dslr anyway, so why not? And in the 6 weeks that I've had it, I've truly enjoyed getting into it and learning all about ISO, shutter speed, etc. But today I took it out on a day-long outing for the first time (a hike). And man, was it a pain. Heavy. Constantly digging it out of my bag. Standing out in a crowd of people taking pictures with their iPhones. And I'm still learning about lighting and which settings are best, so I felt like I spent so much time trying to figure out why my pictures were still washed out, instead of snapping a shot and enjoying the view. I really missed my little point and shoot. Sure, it only has 12 megapixels, but it's so light and convenient, and still always gave me crisp pictures. So, my question(s): has anyone else regretted their purchase? Am I going to frustrate myself on my trip next month because I still don't have it all figured out yet? Should I just bring the faithful point and shoot and save the dslr for family portraits?