Cheap begginners flash?

TheStupidForeigner

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey, I am a very beginner photographer and looking to get my first ever external flash. Only problem is I'm completely broke! :(

So am wondering if anyone can suggest how to choose a flash on an EXTREMELY tight budget? As in around $30 if possible, or as close to that as possible.

I have a canon t3 and I plan to use it mostly for artistic portraits and occasionally taking photos in nightclubs/bars. The most important thing for me is that I can use it well off-camera.

So does anyone have any advice for me?

save up more money ?

some of the cheapest manual flashes are around $65. But as soon as you go into nightclubs /bars and do Events you might want to have a flash that does TTL, which will cost about double that amount on the cheap end.

Agree re: saving money. While you're saving that money, though, it might be a good time to learn about natural light, and shaping it. Grab yourself a couple of pieces of white and black poster board at Wal-mart and use those for reflectors & flags with sunlight & overcast.

BTW, I'm a beginner as well, and I can tell you, I feel like what little bit I've learned about natural light really helped me as an artist, *and* helped me when using artificial light as well

How about this one? It is around $30 and has high ratings on amazon.
Amazon.com : Neewer TT560 Flash Speedlite for Canon Nikon Sony Panasonic Olympus Fujifilm Pentax Sigma Minolta Leica and Other SLR Digital SLR Film SLR Cameras and Digital Cameras with single-contact Hot Shoe : On Camera Shoe Mount Flashes : Camera & Photo

I just can't seem to work out if or how well they work off-camera without the popup flash as a trigger as that is the most important thing for me. I'm not expecting super high quality, and ttl is not important either, just a basic toy to learn with, and when I have more money I will get something better.