Film Developing Question

ktm293

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, I was just wondering how all of you out there develop your film. You all can't have a darkroom, can you...?

I just bought a used 35mm SLR just to get going, and then possibly move to digital.

What I was wondering is how all of you develop your film?

Should I get my film put on a disc? I've never done this before... Do they scan negs onto the disc, or the finished photos? And after I get the disc, can I then chose which ones I want from the disc?

Or should I just get them developed the regular way, then scan them onto the computer myself? (I would have to buy a better scanner. I currently have one, but it's not the best quality)

Which would be the best route to go?

Thanks!

I don't shoot film much anymore...but I just took all my film into a local lab. I did get all the photos put onto CD at the time of developing.

Practically all the labs are digital these days. That means that they develop the film, then the machine scans the negatives and uses the resulting digital file to print the image. Transferring those files to a CD is then very easy. The down side is that that the scans are usually not very high quality...good enough for 4x6 or 5x7 prints...but nowhere as good as files from a good digital camera. Some labs offer better scans as an extra service, check you local labs.

To get better digital files from scans...you can do it yourself...but good scanners aren't cheap...and it's a time consuming process that may take a lot of practice to perfect.

I've seen some people buy the scanners and try it that way...but they usually end up getting a DSLR anyway.

^Ok, thanks a lor for the information!

It looks like I'll just have them put on a CD at the store. I'm not looking for the best quality shots in the world, just doing this for fun and as a learning process.