Finding your style

chuasam

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
One of the most important things as a photographer is finding your unique style. Finding what defines your images and makes you different from the crowd.
Don't want to shoot like everyone else. You want to be able to tell your story and convey you visual ideas in a different way.

Post 3 to 5 images you took that most demonstrate your photographic ideal. These are often images that you took and you can't stop looking at.

I'm a portrait photographer so it is only natural that I post a collection of portraits.
DSC_4106-Edit.jpg
DSC_6718.jpg
DSC_8790-Edit-2-Edit.jpg
DSC_3297-Edit.jpg
DSC_0825-Edit.jpg

Of the five you've posted, which is your favorite style?

I had some photos posted but took them down again: do you want us to post some of our own?

I can be dense at times, I admit. But I don't see a "style" in what you've posted.

You say, "Don't want to shoot like everyone else. You want to be able to tell your story and convey you visual ideas in a different way."

I have to say in response, being dense at times, I see pretty much what I have come to expect from any "portrait" photographer in your shots. Nice lighting, attractive models, good technical values on display. Nothing bad but also nothing that would make me remember your work over that of hundreds of others.

What do you see as your style? What makes you keep coming back to these photos?

And, don't you think "style" is a bit like saying your "art"? Somewhat overworked and most often pretentious IMO.

When I think style, I tend to think Sinatra, Elvis and Hendrix. These three are people who, among the thousands who were doing similar work at the time, made a style that was uniquely their own.