How did you develop "an eye" for editing?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Mijoh, Dec 3, 2007.

1. Mijoh

Mijoh TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    So I'm just starting out and taking all of your wonderful advice by trialing different editing programs. I've got the 30 day trial on Elements right now and I'm working really hard on actually understanding the software. My problem is that although I've started to understand the program technically, there is still a profound learning curve against me creatively. Just because I know how to use the program, doesn't necessarily mean I know when I'm supposed to use it.

The obvious ones are easy: if it's underexposed just tweak the exposure a bit or if there's a big leaf coming out of someone's head clone it out. What about the less obvious problems though? Like just bringing out the midtones a hint, or if you just gave it a slight desaturation of green or something it would really pop! How do you learn that? Is it just experience?

So my questions to you all are these: How did you develop "an eye" for editing? Or even just "an eye" for knowing when a photograph needs some tweaking? How long do you think it took you to really be comfortable deciding on those things?

Any feedback will be much appreciated!

2. FrimpyEIBW

FrimpyEIBW TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I look at a photo honestly. I think "Would I want that hanging on my wall?"

If the answer is no, I start editing.

3. RKW3

RKW3 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Honestly I just go into photoshop and screw around lol.

4. Mijoh

Mijoh TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Haha, I like both of these responses! Pretty much all I'm doing right now is screwing around and randomly editing until I like how things look, but you guys are supposed to tell me it's an artform or something and that there's this obvious path to follow for the perfect photo. My type A personality demands a guideline to creativity people!