How many picture you commit for wedding and engagement shoot ?

goodguy

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
When I shoot events for my main photographer I never worry about numbers and end result.
I give him the RAW files and he gives end product to the client.
I asked him how many pictures he gives for 4 hours wedding and how many pictures he gives to engagement he wasn't very clear.
So a client is asking me how many pictures do I give for a 4 hours wedding and an engagement shoot.
What is a reasonable numbers ?

I always worried about just shooting good pictures and now when I start doing my own events there is so much logistics I never thought of.

I'm not a pro, so I look at things from the standpoint of a customer. If I hired you for 4 hours, I would expect at least 4 good photos per hour, or a total of 16 excellent photographs for the session.

The industry's average is about 50 delivered photos per hour. That's just the average. I deliver about 100/hr and I know others deliver less than 50 per hour. More or less isn't necessarily better in one way or another but you have to set the expectation correctly with your clients.

When somebody asks me that, I tell them that my photography is about quality, not quantity.

There are many, many factors that will determine how many shots end up being delivered per event, per time spent shooting etc.

For example, a regular uneventful wedding ceremony will only yield so many unique shots. Some ceremonies can last hours...all the while everyone is just standing in the same spot looking bored. Of course, a good photographer finds unique shots, like family members wiping a tear or small kids doing what they do. But for this part of the wedding, the photographer is documenting what happens....and if little is happening, then there isn't much happening (visually) and you only end up with so many great shots.