I have my Nikon 50mm f/1.8, now what?

Alerick

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have been using my lense for about two years, on both a Nikon 35mm and a D50, and have always enjoyed the images that it produces. Now that I am out of college I would like to invest more into my equipment. What lenses are great/reasonably affordable? What am I looking for when I read out the label of a lense. I know the focal lenght and f/ but do I want Internal Focus? ED? Is it wise to find older manual focus lenses. I need help choosing the correct lenses to buy so I don't spend alot of money on a lense that I will barely use or want to use.:x:confused:

without knowing what you want to shoot, or what you do shoot, along with a budget, no one here can give any kind of accurate feedback.

According to Ken Rockwell all you need is a D40 and an 18-200mm VR :D

Edit: And don't forget the SB400 flash!

Everyone always asks what I want to shoot. I usually just take my camera with me when I go places and when I see something or find a creative perspective I shoot it. I recently bought a Mamiya M645 and plan to get a wide angle to do architecture and possibly some long exposure shots but other than that I would like to shoot a little of everything.

To Me: Doesn't it somewhat suppress the creativity if we deliniate certian lenses for certain shots? I understand that some lenses do not have capabilities in certain lighting situations but isn't there such thing as a generally "good" lense package to start.

On budget: I don't mind spending 700 to 1,000 on a lense. If I am able to sell any of my work; that price amount would definitely go up.

My field is Industrial Design, so I should probably look at lenses that will help me out there. I noticed that the 50mm in the lightroom was very limited when shooting products.

We ask because (for example) if I like the 35mm f/1.8 and you ask what lens you should get, I'll recommend it.