Is there really a point in shooting RAW?

Ygrazi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've been shooting in RAW for a couple of years now and love it. But I notice that when I convert the NEF files to a JPEG using Photoshop the color balance was way off, ruining my whole picture. So I tried out Nikon NX Capture, was told it was great for converting NEFs to JPEG. While it kept the color balance almost exactly, I noticed it compressed the whole image and some pictures really lost a lot of detail. Is there any way I could fix this? (I used the batch option) Or should I just shoot in JPG Fine? This is driving me nuts!

It sounds like you may have been switching color spaces. When you switch from one color space to another, without properly converting, you can get weird color results. Do you know what space you were working in or moving to etc?

If shooting in jpg works for you, then go for it, there's nothing wrong with it. Personally, I can't do it.. I like to have all the information I can get BEFORE I start processing an image. Jpg from the camera doesn't cut it for me.

As far as your color balance being off.. It might be some settings in photoshop. Mine seems to keep it pretty much how I want it when I convert.

If things are off.. you can just adjust them. That's the point of a raw converter, more or less.

Big Mike, how would check that? What should my settings be set to?

Last edited:
When shooting RAW, you should be able to set any of the color spaces that you have avaliable...but to make things easy, I'd suggest that you set everything to sRGB. Set the camera to that, then make sure that sRGB is set when you covert the RAW file. In Photoshop, make sure that sRGB is your working space and/or that your image is set to that. In Photoshop, look under the Image menu and choose Mode.

But I notice that when I convert the NEF files to a JPEG using Photoshop the color balance was way off, ruining my whole picture.