Nikon D7000

srcamacho

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello folks just preordered the Nikon D7000 and would like to know what would be a good lens for it. I ordered just the body only. Im just getting into photography so im not really sure what type of lens to get. please help.....

Thanks
Im thinking of an all around lens but its over my budget at this time but I guess something for portraits since Ill probally be using it alot with my family. Thanks for the reply.....

for portraits, the new 35mm f/1.4 should be pretty amazing

what's your budget?

for portraits, the new 35mm f/1.4 should be pretty amazing

what's your budget?

how about the 50mm? is this lense any good for a portraiture?

50 is much better for portraiture on an APS-C sized sensor than the 35.

If you have enough room to zoom with your feet.

On a D7000 the apparent focal length of a 50 mm is 75 mm. The 35 mm has an apparent focal length of 52.5 mm.

I would take a close look at the AF 35mm f/2D: AF NIKKOR 35mm f/2D from Nikon

In what way? In my experience, the 50mm is much too long and you have to stand too far back to get reasonable field of view for anything but headshots. Sure, the tighter zoom CAN create a shallower DOF, but IMO that's not worth it if you have trouble just framing the shot how you want.

I'll second the 35mm f/2 suggestion for something more budget-minded, although you'll want to stop down to f/2.8 to get a sharp image

All of that being said, yes, the 50mm f/1.8 or f/1.4 is great for portrait shots provided you have the room to use it.

In what way? In my experience, the 50mm is much too long and you have to stand too far back to get reasonable field of view for anything but headshots. Sure, the tighter zoom CAN create a shallower DOF, but IMO that's not worth it if you have trouble just framing the shot how you want.