Photographing Outdoor Photography help

ansparks91

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to film photography and recently moved out west and haven't been pleased with my photos from the mountains and such. I have a Canon AE-1 with a 50mm f.1/8 lens. The film I've been using is Kodak UltraMax 400 iso and Fujifilm Superia Xtra 400 iso. For example, here are some of my photos that I haven't been pleased with attached.

These photos are taken with the Fujifilm Superia 400 iso film and the green and dark colors just look terrible in my opinion. I've been told I should be using 100 ISO film and am wondering what your guys thoughts are or advice? What films should I be using? For the most part I'm disappointed in the Fujifilm photos below, but something like this turns out quite nicely:

59350001.JPG

The rest of these however I really don't like and seems to be all of the outdoor/mountain/water photography:

59350020.JPG
59350017.JPG

59350006.JPG

These photos are from a different day, it was overcast but also the photos came out pretty dark and was also disappointed:

annelis_annelis-r3-011-4.jpg

Annelis_Annelis-R2-052-24A.jpg

Also this one came out particularly orange-y.

Annelis_Annelis-R3-053-25.jpg

Last edited:
I think the exposure looks pretty good. You can always adjust accordingly if you feel that you are consistently underexposing. For example, tell the camera to expose for ISO200. I generally prefer ASA200 or slower for outdoor work but 400 isn't out of line in my opinion. I am shooting Fuji Pro 400h right now. Slower film usually means less/finer grain, but some films have very fine grain, even at ASA400. Some slide film for example.

You are doing yourself a favor by not giving up on the Ae-1 prematurely. I find analog photography extremely rewarding and liberating!