Please help I got a few questions?

RumDaddy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
My wife and I have been dabbling in photography now for a few years. Weve been sharing one camera and I think its time to start taking our hobby to the next level. We got our tax returns back and are ready to spend the mother load on new equipment. Everything from backdrops to studio lighting.

So heres my list of things to get, perhaps some of you more experienced photographers can point me in the right direction on either what products to start looking into or at least on how much we should spend. FYI We plan on eventually pursuing weddings and family portraits.

1. A good Cannon body.
2. 2 lenses
3. A set of light kits that can do both, back drops and regular indoor portraits.
4. And finally a decent flash

Feel free to chime in a remind me of the stuff I may be forgetting. :) And any help would be greatly appreciated.

What camera / lenses do you currently own?
What is your budget? Motherload for me can be different than motherload for you.

If you plan on pursuing weddings and such, you are going to need top quality lenses (more than a top quality camera).

With no budget, I'd look at
Canon 5D Mark II - $2700

Lens options:
Canon 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS - $1700
Canon 24-70mm f/2.8 L - $1300
Canon 17-55mm f/2.8 IS - $1000
Canon 16-35mm f/2.8 L - $1500

You can also look at some third party lenses such as Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 - $500

For a flash, look at the Canon 580EX.
Instead of studio lights, you can always get a few 580EX with some Pocket Wizard triggers and use those. Can be used in studio or on location.

Umbrellas, softboxes, reflectors and other light gear
Battery grip, extra batteries. I hear a few wedding photogs like Stroboframes to mount their flashes on

What camera / lenses do you currently own?
With no budget, I'd look at
Canon 5D Mark II - $2700

Lens options:

Canon 24-70mm f/2.8 L - $1300

For a flash, look at the Canon 580EX.