Question about portrait photography...

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by Senor Hound, May 14, 2008.

1. Senor Hound

Senor Hound TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    What sort of lens (mm wise) do you NORMALLY use for portrait photography, and how far away are you usually from your subject? The reason I ask is I am an aspiring portrait photographer (very long way away from being one), and I want to know kind of what the sweet spot is mm wise for a digital camera (1.5 sensor). Do you usually find yourself shooting between like 50-100? I'm looking at a lens combo (like 18-55 and 55-200), but I don't want a setup that's going to make me have to swtich back and forth between two lenses all of the time. I also know a prime lens (like a 50 or an 85) is what true professionals use, but for amateur, fun work (photos of cute girls in my class, my nephews, etc.), what would be a good lens?

I also tried looking under the post of "great portraiture techniques" but I didn't find anything like this.

2. Tiberius47

Tiberius47 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    The usual focal lengths are between 50 and 80mm for a 35mm camera. An 18-55mm lens on a 1.5 camera will do the job quite nicely.

But remember, you can take a portrait with any lens.

3. jlykins

jlykins TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I like using a telephoto. I really like my 18-200 at about 150ish because it compress' the features and keeps everything from getting out of perportion.

4. ukreal1

ukreal1 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I love my 50mm 1.8, great lens for a great price!

5. jlykins

jlykins TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    For low light, this is an awsome lens!

6. Sarah23

Sarah23 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I also have the 50mm f/1.8 that I use for portraits. I love it! Very fast lens!

I've heard good things about the 85mm also.

7. Kanikula

Kanikula TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I use a 50mm 1.8 but im hoping to invest in the 85mm

8. hedonia