Question about portrait photography...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Senor Hound

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
What sort of lens (mm wise) do you NORMALLY use for portrait photography, and how far away are you usually from your subject? The reason I ask is I am an aspiring portrait photographer (very long way away from being one), and I want to know kind of what the sweet spot is mm wise for a digital camera (1.5 sensor). Do you usually find yourself shooting between like 50-100? I'm looking at a lens combo (like 18-55 and 55-200), but I don't want a setup that's going to make me have to swtich back and forth between two lenses all of the time. I also know a prime lens (like a 50 or an 85) is what true professionals use, but for amateur, fun work (photos of cute girls in my class, my nephews, etc.), what would be a good lens?

I also tried looking under the post of "great portraiture techniques" but I didn't find anything like this.

The usual focal lengths are between 50 and 80mm for a 35mm camera. An 18-55mm lens on a 1.5 camera will do the job quite nicely.

But remember, you can take a portrait with any lens.

I like using a telephoto. I really like my 18-200 at about 150ish because it compress' the features and keeps everything from getting out of perportion.

I also have the 50mm f/1.8 that I use for portraits. I love it! Very fast lens!

I've heard good things about the 85mm also.

I use a 50mm 1.8 but im hoping to invest in the 85mm

The 50mm 1.8 is sharp as heck and you can't beat the price. I think you should get this lens before any other and keep practicing. (Also, with a prime you can spend more time mastering composition and exposure without also being tempted to fiddle with focal length).