Telephoto Question

bjwilli88

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello, you'll have to forgive my ignorance. I am just beginning to study photography and I know almost nothing about the subject.

I am interested in purchasing a dslr and a telephoto lens. My main reason for doing this is for shooting wildlife, such as deer, elk, moose etc. This will be purely for just a hobby, and I am not looking to shoot professional grade pictures or anything like that. I just want some decent equipment to upgrade from my current Canon Powershot G3 point and shoot camera. My question is this...how would a 70-300mm lens (specifically the Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM) compare, as far as zoom goes, to say the Canon Powershot S5 IS point and shoot with 12x optical zoom? Will the dslr with the 70-300mm lens be able to zoom in significantly more?

Again, sorry for the ignorance, I just know nothing about this.

Thanks!

Here's the 35mm equivalent focal lengths for these cameras and the 70-300mm Canon lens on a 1.6x crop Canon DSLR:

G3: 35-140 mm
S5: 36-432 mm
70-300: 112-480mm

So the DSLR with that zoom will get you out further than an S5. More importantly though, the DSLR is a much larger format than a point and shoot, even an advanced one, so you'll get much better image quality and sharpness. And if the light fades or your subject is moving and you need to crank up the ISO, you can do it on a DSLR with virtually no drop in quality like you'd get cranking a P&S up to even iso200.

Mav is totally right. Although the actual zoom difference between the cameras isn't that much, the image quality of an SLR is far better than any P&S-style camera. This also means that you will be able to crop your images to get an even closer photo without losing much quality.

Here's the 35mm equivalent focal lengths for these cameras and the 70-300mm Canon lens on a 1.6x crop Canon DSLR:

G3: 35-140 mm
S5: 36-432 mm
70-300: 112-480mm