which camera?

sdgmusic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.sean-degroote.ca
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am an amateur/semi pro photographer looking at getting my first DSLR. I am between the Nikon D40 and D80. I realize that the D80 is double the price of the D40, I just wanted some input. I have heard that extra lenses for the D40 are few and far between. Exspansion might be nexcessary. any thoughts?

It's not so much that the lenses are few and far between; there are plenty of lenses that will fit on the D40. The problem is that those lenses which use a 'screwdriver' motor rather than internal focus will not autofocus on the D40; you will have to focus manually which is of course possible but not necessarily convenient. These include standard prime lenses and others there is a reasonable chance you will want at some point.

The problem is that those lenses which use a 'screwdriver' motor rather than internal focus will not autofocus on the D40;.

I'm new to DSLR cameras also, and my question might sound stupid, but ain't it better to have no auto focus? So you can focus what you really want?

Also, I'm looking between the D40 & D70... don't know which one to buy yet.
But another question to y'all- Can the D70 take pictures under the rain? I heard the D40 couldn't because he didn't have a special case or something like that...

I'm new to DSLR cameras also, and my question might sound stupid, but ain't it better to have no auto focus? So you can focus what you really want?