3 tonemapped cloudscapes for C&C

Compaq

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, I was sitting in our living room about two hours ago and saw these red clouds across the fjord. It had been raining all day. I took my camera and (my brothers) kit lens and my tripod + extra battery and drove down to our local beach where I started shooting. Here follows three of them.
Tone mapped in photomatix, edited in PS and reduced noise with topaz denoise.

I have many dark circular spots (the shape of the diaphragm, it seems) around two of the shots. Dirt on sensor? Front or back element?

#1 Now this is one mighty cloud!

Stranda 3 jpeg tonemapped resize by Bokehliciousness-ness, on Flickr

#2 I really like the play of lights in this one, but the spots are even more pronounced here.

Stranda 2 jpeg tonemapped resize by Bokehliciousness-ness, on Flickr

#3 Here I can't see any spots.. weird. Anyway, I'm thinking I should have reduced the blue a little... Easily done, though. I'm not sure if it's too much blue, yet.

Stranda jpeg tonemapped resize by Bokehliciousness-ness, on Flickr

All files reduced in size for your loading's pleasure :)
Thank you for commenting :)

I'll add 1 and 2 without the dots, and I'll put down #3 with a little brighter foreground and with a little less blue. I decided to keep the stream dark, it just make it seem "wetter" and more "stream like" imo, as well has let it have the same tonal values as the sea...

#1.2

Stranda 3 jpeg tonemapped resize by Bokehliciousness-ness, on Flickr

#2.2

Stranda 2 jpeg tonemapped resize fjerna prikkar by Bokehliciousness-ness, on Flickr

#3.2

Stranda jpeg tonemapped resize by Bokehliciousness-ness, on Flickr

Last edited:
I would LOVE the second one if you clones out the dots!! I think the exposure in the foreground of the third picture needs to be lightened :)