35/50mm Prime with Vibration Control

umarhant

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a d5100 with the kit lens which I bought a ten days back. Now time has come to buy a new lens. I am looking for a 35/50mm f1.8 prime (Preferably 35 since my camera has 1.5 crop factor). I will use it for portraits and landscape photography. I also plan to use it for video recording. VR/IF/VC/OS will be a nice feature for videos. Why can't I find a 35/50mm prime with vr? Can someone guide me for a good lens for videos. Althogh I am new to dslr, I have been using prosumer level video cameras.

You won't find one with VR because it's simply not needed. The closest lens to that focal length you'll see is the 60mm F/2.8 Micro Nikkor.

We need to know what kind of videos you're going to shoot, and what your budget is to really offer a lens.

If you're doing landscape videos, Tokina 11-16mm F/2.8. Or even any of the 18-50, 17-50, etc, lenses would work. The 35/1.8 would be fine, though. It just wouldn't allow you to get quite as far out as the rest of them.

Mark

Yep, at those focal lengths image stabilization just isn't needed, and it would not only make the lenses bigger, it would also make them more expensive. ↑ ↑ ↑

Image stabilization isn't really needed until focal lengths approach 200 mm.

IS/VR (et al) was invented to help amateur shooters that use poor camera handeling/holding technique.

Yep, at those focal lengths image stabilization just isn't needed, and it would not only make the lenses bigger, it would also make them more expensive. ↑ ↑ ↑

Image stabilization isn't really needed until focal lengths approach 200 mm.

IS/VR (et al) was invented to help amateur shooters that use poor camera handeling/holding technique.