50mm lens

dariarybak

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I'm looking for a 50mm lens for my Canon 700D. Could you recommend me anything? Are only the Canon lenses compatible or from other companys too? I'm a newbie so please be understanding.

Sigma, Tamron and Tokina all make compatible lenses. Not sure if any of them make a Nifty Fifty, though.

There are many compatible nifty fifties on the market.....

I'm invested in Nikon so not sure about compatibility, but I took a look at the DxOMark database for your camera. 6 lenses came up, 2 from Sigma and 4 from Canon. The sharpest 50mm lens is the Sigma 50mm f1.4 DG HSM Art for about $950. [BTW, that's the best choice for Nikons as well] The next sharpest is the Canon EF 50mm f1.8 STM for $125. There is a little bit more distortion, vignetting and CA with the Canon lens, but most of those are easily correctable in PP software like LightRoom. There is a Canon f1.4 for about $500, but the CA is much higher and its a hair less sharp. To me, this is a no brainer, get the Canon ER 50mm f1.8 STM, but again, check compatibility first.

I owned the very common Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 a few years back; inexpensive, loud focusing, BAD flare when shot right toward the sun, amply sharp, but with jarring bokeh on many backgrounds. This is the "nifty fifty" that Canon made for quite some time; it was a low-cost, somewhat poor-quality 50mm lens, with performance that was well below even 1970's standards as far as flare resistance for example. This older model had a habit of snapping into two, un-repairable pieces when dropped; as I recall, this Nifty Fifty was the second iteration of the Canon EF 50/1.8. This model had a cheap, 5-bladed iris diaphragm...Wow..a 5-bladed iris? That's a very 1950's-like degree of cheapness.

But...the newer Canon EF 50mm f1.8 STM for $125...now THAT's the 50mm lens I would definitely recommend.