a couple pictures of my snake (56K)

primus diddy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a pretty amature photographer but I'm looking to get better. Here are a couple pictures of my snake.

blueeye.jpg

I ran into some difficulties, so I'm only posting one for now.

Welcome to the forum!
It looks like she's about to shed. :)

It's a nice picture, but around here we like to keep the images around 600-700 pixels wide/tall at most. :)

-chris

Yeah, I tried to resize it, but it didn't work. Sorry about that.

He was indeed in shed. I assume you keep snakes; what kind(s)?

Hey, I hope you don't mind... I was a bit bored and I played with the image. All I really did here was sharpen it a bit using unsharp mask (70%, 2.5 radius, 2 threshold) and turn up the contrast about 35 points. (this is in photoshop)

It's a neat pic, but you have that ugly spectre of the background being washed out due to the very bright light and the subject being effectively in front of that light.

Also one very minor point is that your depth of field is pretty narrow and it looks like the back of his jaw was the focal point, tossing the nose and eye a bit out of focus. If possible, a smaller aperature and/or further distance from subject and using a zoom lens might have helped that a bit.

Oh and what the heck is that snake doing in the playground?!? :) :lmao:

Anyway, here's my quick try at it:

blueeye%20adj.jpg

Sorry I got back to this so late, but I'm a complete newbie. I know most of the vocab and stuff, but I don't really know what you were talking about (lol).

How would I fix these problems in the future? I took it using a Nikon Coolpix 5000. I can't see the display outside, so I just kind of shoot and hope it comes out.

primus diddy said:
Sorry I got back to this so late, but I'm a complete newbie. I know most of the vocab and stuff, but I don't really know what you were talking about (lol).