A little help with exposure

Tired but willin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there,

Gotto say this is my first post and have just been reviewing the web site and recent posts - looks really informative and definitley something i've been looking for.

So here's my problem guys - i'm fairly new to photograghy but have the bug pretty hard (much to the distress of my wife sometimes!). I've recently been exploring night photography, and as a starter have had some pretty good results! Over the weekend i took the family to Whitstable Bay (small fishing town in Kent), which was very cold but enjoyable. I took a ton of pics as it was a faily cloudy day with the sun shining through the bottom part of grey clouds, over the little fishing town, including boats and sea breakers. As soon as i load the pics onto the laptop i notice i've got a problem with exposure with the two parts of the photo. Large areas of the sky are over exposed with the sun coming through against the grey clouds, with the bottom part of the photo under exposed being too dark. I tried focusing on the darkish lower part of the pic then repostioning the camera but it didn't work - any help greatly received......

Thanks in advance

Dan.

Welcome! Looks like you've discovered "dynamic range" which is the difference in brightness of a given between the darkest and lightest elements. Unfortunately the real-world's dynamic range often exceeds that which are camera's sensors can record leading to what is known as "blown highlights" in the case of over-exposure, or deep shadow for under exposure.