A quick question concerning ISO with night/live photography

Niz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey Guys,

My name is Ben, im pretty new to the world of photography and im trying to get a grasp on ISO, i have a quick but probably very basic question regarding ISO in low light photos

I have been seeing alot of night photography that has been taken with a ISO of 100-200 and alot of live music photography that has been taken anywhere from 800-1600 ISO, can somebody tell me why live music photography isn't in 100-200 ISO or night photography isnt in 800 ISO?
I know that the higher the ISO the more grain but is that what event/music photographers want or is it that there is just not enough light that they are force to use 1600 ISO??

Thanks Ben

Night shots always have dark Backgrounds so your going to have no separation. Music photography has a stronger Foreground and usually something close. So when you fill the frame with more Brighter Foreground you have less noise to see.

As with all things in life, exposure ISO is a compromise. It's usually low-light situations that require a higher ISO just so the shutter speed and aperture can be maintained at a certain point to obtain a 'correct' exposure. The aperture of the lens may be at or near it's maximum, and any slower of a shutter speed would create blur.

There is no one single, magic ISO for any given subject such as stage productions since the light levels can vary widely between venues. One stage may be well-lit enough to use ISO 400, while the next is so poorly lit 1600 or even 3200 is required to keep the shutter speed fast enough to 'get the shot'.