About to start out, recommend me a pro grade camera, lens, and advice! thanks

lawlstud

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a Pipeliner by trade and during my travels around the US I see many wonderful sights, spectacular views, amazing night skies and so forth and so I want a camera that can capture what I see. see the moon as I see it. Capture the landscape as I see it. I make good money so I don't want some cheap one I cam afford a good one thank you

I'm looking to spend $ 600-1200 total for camera and lens

Last edited by a moderator:
Nikon D4 with the 70-200 2.8 VRII lens, and the 24-70 2.8 lens! That would be a good start!

Okay, now that Heckle and Jeckle up there have spent all your money... ;) Seriously though, you really need to provide a dollar figure. Your definition of a good one and mine might not be the same, but if you tell us how much you want to spend, we can definitely give you the best suggestions in that range.

The cheapest Canon or Nikon full frame. Frames per second performance is not your main concern.

If you can afford it, go for a Leica! If I could just hold one, I'd die happy.

1. Cameras don't work like your eyes do, can only record 2 dimensions - not the 3 dimensions that we see, so "as I see it" won't happen regardless the cost.

2. The more expensive DSLR cameras get, the more photographer knowledge and skill (both technical and artistic) is required to make good photos. Even using a basic $500 entry-level DSLR camera and kit lens, the more knowledge and skill the photographer adds to the equation, the better the photos the camera will produce.