Absolute Beginner - Minolta XG-2

Marquischacha

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
[Reposted here from the Beginners Forum]

Hello all.

I just bought a used Minolta XG-2 that I'm anxious to start using... however, I have no idea where to start. I'm probably going to make all noobs look like Mensa members with this post but hey ho...

Does anyone have information on the batteries needed, and where to get them from? Do I even need a battery to start using it? What kind of film would be best to use for a total beginner (I am clueless on things like ISOs, numbers etc... I'm looking hereat the moment) Best place to have them developed?

I have a multitude of questions but those are the most important, I think. Apologies for the total ineptitude of my photography skills and general cluelessness. I hope someone can help out a beginner so I can start taking (hopefully) decent shots.

Thank you all in advance​

Hi there. I'm also a beginner Minolta shooter. I use a x-700 though.
Understanding ISO is simple. The higher the number, the faster the film can take the picture. However, the quality of the picture will be less because it will look more grainy. The lower the number, the slower the film, but the quality is higher. And all of these factors goes into play with your shutter speed, aperture, etc. I hope I'm not confusing you. :\ Don't worry, you won't get these things overnight. It takes pondering and "trial & error".
I get my films developed at a local retail store. I'm guessing you're from the UK, so... you'll have to do some visiting on your own. or you can call the stores and ask. Usually, I NICELY tell the workers to be careful with the film and not to get their fingerprints on them.