advice for manual photography, please

MonkMayfair1937

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
My camera Sony alpha 77 SLT-A77V, lens Tamron 18-270mm F/3.5-63 Di II PZD (shooting in RAW mode). The Tamron lens says for Sony, but does anyone know if it works on Canon and Nikons?

I'm no newbie to point and shoot photography, but I've never had any luck with manual photography. No matter even if I copy the exposure and ISO of successful auto photos, it's always blurry or not crisp enough. It's very frustrating. I switch to the manual button, and the manual switch on the lens, of course.

Any suggestions for settings for inside photography (like family events, etc) and daylight outside?

I've not done a lot of photography lately. I've been unhappy with the alpha 77 (2012 vintage) for most of the time I've had it. The photos are inferior to the old Sony DSC-F828, which I really loved. A LOT of grain, compared to the old one, or in general, for that matter, and the F828 was crisper with better color. The lowest ISO it'll seem to go in auto is 400 (with a rare 250). The 828 went 64 or 80. (onboard flash). I had hot shoe flash for the F828, but it was useless. It never synced up with the camera.

Initial photos were less grainy. I've just restored to factory settings (and adjusting back to raw) to see if that helps. I also hit the clean sensor button (it vibrated for a second).

The videos weren't too bad. Not a lot of grain. So perhaps it isn't something to do with the firmware? HUGE files, about 250 MB per minute (.mts file).

Color mode: I have it at the factory setting, but there's a choice for adobe RGB. Which is better?

I should have went with a Canon or Nikon, but I was very happy with the 828. I halfway thought of ditching it and getting a Nikon 3400, but I didn't want to sink a bunch more money into it.