Advice on Books please ?

ernie90

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, can anyone advise good reading material to help me learn about photography please, have just bought an EOS7D, never used a DSLR before and know very little want to learn how to use the camera and also about setting up shots, etc, I have pre-ordered dummys guide to 7D (out in feb) which tells you how much I know, any advice welcomed.:thumbup:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

EOS 7D
Canon EF 15-85mm IS Lens
Canon EF 70/300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens
Canon EF 70/200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Canon 50mm f/1.8 lens
Speedlite 580EXii
BG-E7 Battery Grip

Last edited:
Any good book on exposure would help. Also, and I know this is an advanced book, the hot shoe diaries (its about the use of flash) but can help a lot with composition and understanding light

"Understanding Exposure" is an excellent book. I am also a newb and this book really gave me a solid base to build on.

one above there :)
+ Magic Lantern Guide (for your camera) - learn to use it.

Thanks for the info, appreciate you all taking the time to respond

Understanding Exposure is simply the best beginner book there is. Read it, learn it, love it.

I'm not sure if many will agree about this though: cancel your order for the Dummies book. I bought one for my Canon 30D. It was about the same as my user manual. It explained things *a bit* more, but go out and play with your camera and you'll know your camera better than the book can tell you. Typically I've found that any book made for a specific camera is about boiled down version of the techincal aspects of the camera and very little to do about photography.