Advice on entry level dSLR

shootingrubber

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I am looking to purchase an entry level dSLR camera. I used to own a Sony A200, but I sold it and am looking for something a bit better, but I am also on a budget, as I am a student. I was looking at the Sony A33, but I was wondering what you guys thought of that. I was also looking at the Canon T3i, but that is more expensive than the A33. I like the A33 because of it's fast 7fps shooting, full HD video, and it seems to perform pretty well for higher ISO settings.

So, what camera choices would you recommend for me on a budget (like under $800 CAN)?

Thanks!

LOTS more lens options with the Canon.

the Canon is the better camera and unless you are shooting high speed soprts/action the fps should work.

But what camera gives you the better bang for your buck? The A33 has 7fps, while the T3i only has 3.7fps. Like I said, I had a Sony before and I was happy with it, but I am open to new suggestions as well.

EDIT: Which camera performs better in low lights without flash?

Is high speed shooting what you will do most with it?

I really think about the camera body as fairly transient technology... the glass is where quality is had and lost as far as equipment, and as said, Canon is compatible with a wide range of awesome lenses.

"bang for the buck" should be MUCH lower on your list of priorities when choosing equipment. Performance, reliability, features, lens selection among others are things I would look at before "bang for the buck"