am i getting anything right??

how do i CC my photo;s when i have no way to know if there wrong? well all try. #1 i think is a little out of focus framing seems ok to me? color seems to be good am i right?? #2 this was taking on a very sunny day. on the dog the color and focus seem ok to me? but the grass looks to be blown out by the sun?? well i'll keep trying and i will not give up
thanks
amartin

I like #1 but the head is too center and subject is blending into the background. If the lighting had been more low key it'd have more contrast. I'm a nooB student though don't pay much attention to me.

how do i CC my photo;s when i have no way to know if there wrong? well all try. #1 i think is a little out of focus framing seems ok to me? color seems to be good am i right?? #2 this was taking on a very sunny day. on the dog the color and focus seem ok to me? but the grass looks to be blown out by the sun?? well i'll keep trying and i will not give up
thanks
amartin

Critiquing yourself definitely helps you learn.

Here are a few observations.....but take my comments with a grain of salt as I am a noob as well.

In #1 you captured a nice moment. The boy has a great expression. You're using a 50 mm prime (the old nifty fifty) and doing the classic noob mistake of using it at f1.8. This gives you nice background blur but not enough depth of field to capture the subject in focus. If you look carefully, the focus is good on the hair but falls off as you go down the face. The chair is distracting. Your subject is too centered. Look up the rule of thirds and try to crop it a bit (take off from the top and from the left).